“My favorite newest new group is Broadway Killers”

Skærmbillede2017-03-26kl.16.48.38

When I turned 10 my mom and dad gave me a drum kit. That was all I got. They told me I could keep it or give it back and get more presents for the money I would get in return. I kept it – no doubt in my mind. At that time I was already in love with rock ‘n’ roll music. My dad is a music teacher and our home was filled with records with The Beatles, The Stones, Chuck Berry, Elvis – you name it. Rock ‘n’ roll turned into grunge which led the way into punk rock music.

I was fifteen when I bought my first Bad Religion record. A band that stood for integrity, knowledge, great lyrics and amazing melodies and harmonies. A true inspiration since that day.

I’m 32 now. I have a band with my best friends that I love more than anything. However, that does not mean others do. Especially not my heroes.  So when I read these words…:

“My favorite newest new group is out of Denmark and they’re called Broadway Killers. They played a couple of shows with us, and I just went out and watched them play and they’re three guys from different bands who put this band together because they didn’t really seem to get along with what they were doing in their other bands and this thing clicked for them. I watched them play and I told them, “You guys are really good, as good as anything that I have ever seen.” They’re super passionate, super willing to be creative and do shit that’s way out of the norm”.

… from a man and a band that I respect so much, well… then you can guess how I feel. The fact that we have been invited to join them on the European tour this summer is even bigger.

I’m from a small town in Denmark called Grindsted. Anything is possible. Just sayin’. Read the entire interview here.

Thank you mr. Bentley.
Love, Jakob

Leave a Reply

